You are here:

Cork ETB is the patron and management body for two Community National Schools and 28 recognised Post Primary schools, including four PLC Colleges. Twelve of the post primary schools are designated Community colleges where there is an agreement with the local Catholic bishop on diocesan involvement in the governance of the college.  Cork ETB provides a range of services to all our schools and colleges including financial, human resource, building, ICT, governance support as well as educational planning support. Cork ETB is also a co-trustee/co-patron of 13 Community and Comprehensive Schools.

Cork ETB provides several educational settings of a post primary nature in collaboration with the HSE, to support students who are not able to participate in main stream provision. These settings are in the form of special care, high support and residential care units, including Ard Álainn at St. Stephens Hospital, Glanmire and Éist Linn at Bessboro Blackrock.

Post-Primary Sector

Cork ETB has long been a provider of second-level education throughout the Cork region. Through its 24 post-primary schools and colleges, with links to our Youthreach services and our Further Education Colleges, a wholly inclusive approach is taken by Cork ETB to the provision of education and training appropriate to the learning capacity and readiness of all students in its care.

Cork ETB pioneered the development of the Designated Community College model in partnership with the Diocese of Cork and Ross and the Diocese of Cloyne. The designated community colleges provide a model of second-level education that is inclusive and learner-centred, in order to foster and encourage the academic, personal, social and spiritual development of students. The co-trustees are committed to the partnership model set out in the Model Agreements governing the operation of the Designated Community Colleges, and to supporting these colleges in meeting the needs of the communities in which they operate.

Cork ETB post-primary schools and colleges have been drivers of innovation in building an environment to nurture children who have been socially excluded or disadvantaged, with the provision of Behavioural Support Units and an Autistic Spectrum Disorder Service.

Primary Sector – Community National Schools

Cork ETB has established two community national schools, one in Mallow ( and the other in Carrigtwohill ( Community National Schools are child-centred, inclusive, multi-belief, state- supported primary schools, which operate through an ethos of inclusiveness and respect for all beliefs, both religious and non-religious, reflecting the diversity of our modern Irish society.

For further information on Community National Schools, please visit:

School Completion Programme

The School Completion Programme (SCP) was set up as part of the Department of Education and Skills DEIS Strategy – ‘Delivering Equality of Opportunity in Schools’ and is now under the funding remit of TÚSLA.

The aim of this programme is to increase the numbers of young people staying in primary and second-level education and, in doing so, to improve the numbers of pupils who successfully complete the Senior Cycle, or its equivalent.

School of Music

Cork ETB School of Music (CETBSM) is one of Ireland’s most dynamic multi-campus music schools.

CETBSM provides diverse instrumental tuition programmes in the Classical and Traditional Irish Music styles, as well as offering an exciting portfolio of ensembles, bands, musicianship classes and other music-making activities. The school also has an extensive public performance ‘Concert Series’ and works closely with its partner-schools to support the formal school music programmes at Junior, Transition Year and Leaving Certificate Levels.

For further information on how to access music tuition, please visit:

Music Generation

Music Generation Cork City (MGCC) is part of Music Generation, Ireland’s national music education programme.

MGCC is based on a partnership model with local music education providers to put music education programmes in place in schools and youth groups in areas of city which have been identified as having gaps in music education provision.

For further information please visit:

Our Schools & Colleges

Scoil Aonghusa (022)
Scoil Chlíodhna (086)
Bishop McEgan
Carrignafoy Community
Carrigtwohill Community
Clonakilty Community
Coláiste an Chraoibhí
Coláiste Daibhé
Coláiste Fionnchua
Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí
Coláiste Pobail Naomh
Gaelcholáiste Charraig Uí
Glanmire Community
Maria Immaculata Community
Nagle Community
Schull Community
St. Aidan's Community
St. Brogan's
St. Colman's Community
Terence MacSwiney Community
Cork College of FET Morrison's Island (021)
Cork College of FET Tramore Road (021)
Cork College of FET Kinsale (021)
Cork College of FET Mallow (022)
Cork College of FET Douglas Street
Cork College of FET Bishopstown
Cork College of FET West Cork
Cork College of FET Knocknaheeny Centre(021)
QQI Logo
Government of Ireland
Co-Funded by the European Union
Solas Learning Works